Class 1 Pay

Why are we paid so little, when the likes of ASDA / Tesco / Morrisons anounce large profits each year, they can afford to pay more to suppliers, seems they have got too large and call the tune?
This brings it home to you in 1981 ‘yes 23 yrs ago’ ! I went self employed as a mechanic, my hourly rate was £6 p/hr, my take home pay now is £5.70 p/hr I work 4 on 4 off 48 hours shifts 14 days holiday p/a, ‘requested’ to work bank holidays’( for extra pay) It pees me off when my firm employs agency staff pay them £18 p/hr for Sundays & even double man them!!! to [zb] the job up! like how do I get onto the M6 from Stockport lol lol !
Our o/time rate is time and an eighth. Can anyone beat that■■?
Can’t complain the jobs a doddle though!!!
Even the cleaners at Asda L/worth are on £25k a yr, is it right they need a class 1 to drive the green bins around? ;;;

OK so lets know what rate you are all on up and down the country.
Off to bed now workin later .

Small one.L. :wink:

Welcome to TruckNetUK, Bigwheeler.

This subject has been aired quite a bit recently. There is also a thread asking the question, Why are you a Trucker?
After all, like you say, we aren’t exactly well paid, but we are still there doing the job. Long hours, rarely home at night, treated like zb ( zb is a TruckNet tradition) by far to many people etc etc and not paid nearly enough for the responsibility etc. I think that thread is titled ‘I love my job’, (just came to me :smiley: ).

Anyway, we hope to here from you, as often as possible. Don’t be shy and don’t be a stranger.