Agency ombudsman?

Is there such thing ?

I’ve been knocked two shifts money from an agency I worked for over Xmas. I’m a ltd company driver.

I had a minor incident and broke a passenger mirror but the company I was working for said this would be covered by their insurance, and the agency never mentioned this coming back to me. But I have a feeling they are going to say this is why they haven’t paid me.

But is there an official ombudsman or regulating body that protects agency workers from any grey areas or malpractice by agency’s?

It has become very common practice for UK employers (both - companies and agencies) not to pay to their drivers lately.

Sometimes it almost feels like back in the Easter Europe nowadays in UK… :smiley:

99% you ain’t getting anything from them, welcome to the club… for future never take pay monthly job on as a driver, and never work more than 1-2 days for agency before testing if they are payers or ain’t :smiley:

No there isn’t…

There is the REC which most agencies are members of but, it’s nothing but an old boy network and won’t enter into individual disputes.

If your contract exonerates you from financial penalty then moneyclaim online is your next port of call.

Employment agencies standards inspectorate

Speedy Duck:
Employment agencies standards inspectorate

Just…

Downloaded the GOV.UK PDF on this lot. A quick glance tells me it’s more concerned with agency workers rights and agency compliance of regulation than individual disputes over cash or contract issues Having said that, a phone call or an email to them wouldn’t hurt.

In short the OP has been ripped off. If he’s agreed damages in his contract then he’s lost the money. If he hasn’t then in my experience negotiation with these blood sucking parasites is pointless.

Hit them first and hit them hard with threats of legal action.

Stinka:
I’m a ltd company driver.

Just spotted…