Why the fook don’t other drivers just wait?

I’ve been doing this job now for 20 years.

I did a decade on rigids. A combo of 18 tonners and 6 wheelers for builders merchants.

Then 7 years on drawbar and 3 driving artics.

Either my space perception is out of sink or the vast majority out ont road just do not know what is an adequate space to leave prior to coming back in.

No bugger will leave at least another Artic length in front before merging back in.

An age old gripe, admittedly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In short they have more ambition than ability. Had a 1/4 wit cut in with barely a foot gap today & I was plodding at 52.

As lardy boy would say - no need.

Might as well add won’t give way to oncoming traffic when there’s an obstruction ahead of them.Cutting right hand bends.No judgement of width thereby usually running on or over the central dividing line.Going wide on the exit of left hand turns rather than on the entry.Tail sweep is out of sight out of mind.Novice car driver type brake and go driving mantra.

As for leaving a decent gap when returning the above lot will see that as lane hogging and/or an open invitation to cut in behind you and then under take you.

If you think this lot are bad, just wait till the next round of dumbing down has borne fruit, all downhill now.

I can just imagine you gripping tightly to the bar, swaying slightly, while dictating to a friend what to type :smiley:
But yes, this is how it is nowadays.
I regularly get cut in, with a couple of feet or so gap, on the ring road, 406.
Deep breath, back off, ■■■■ it up, 2 minutes to wembley holding area. No problem.

hiabman:
I’ve been doing this job now for 20 years.

I did a decade on rigids. A combo of 18 tonners and 6 wheelers for builders merchants.

Then 7 years on drawbar and 3 driving artics.

Either my space perception is out of sink or the vast majority out ont road just do not know what is an adequate space to leave prior to coming back in.