Newbie aiming to work in Iraq/Afganistan

I’m a newbie trucker who started his trucking career off aged 37 after working office based work for the last 15 years. I know this is a somewhat controversial topic discussed within the trucking community but my aim is to work 1 year or 6 month contracts in places such as Western Africa, Iraq and Afganistan. I’m doing agency work right now. I understand that I need more experience as I only have a few months under my belt right now.
I’m looking for contacts here who may have done this kind of work/or are doing it right now, who may be able to guide me and advise me on how to get the right experience and how much of it I would need. I understand KBR are the main company who recruit for this kind of work and there are a few other contractors aswell.

Many Thanks

Without it seeming like an insult, can I ask why you want too?

Its the last place I would want to drive a truck.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

He’s been office based for last 15yrs.Clearly needs some excitement.If getting shot at while delivering pallets of crisps or whatever is worth being shot at.I’d say go for it.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Lets play “spot the wind up”. Ill start…

The-Snowman:

At least the only hi viz he will need is an orange tracksuit for those potential ‘Fame at last video opportunities’ :laughing:

I know 2 lads who drove out in Iraq, but they had full US Army protection at that time, and they made a lot of money.
I do know that neither of them would go back there today, as sure as hell.

robroy:

The-Snowman:

At least the only hi viz he will need is an orange tracksuit for those potential ‘Fame at last video opportunities’ :laughing:

A Hi-vis ■■? you really think a Hi-vis will make a difference when your rolling down the main road in Iraq/ Afganistain with 30000 l of petrol or avgas and Taliban Charlie has you in the sights of his RPG? A bomb disposal suit would be a better bet .