Scope

Good evening and a jolly good day to you all, is there any body that knows what is classed as out of scope,if I take the unit home at weekends is that indeed out of scope, thank you all

malcolmgbell:
Good evening and a jolly good day to you all, is there any body that knows what is classed as out of scope,if I take the unit home at weekends is that indeed out of scope, thank you all

As far as I know,and I’m no expert,it’s generally domestic etc

The words “can of worms” spring to mind .
I used to in the eighties but now there will be a raft of legal to say no in one form or another.
Wait for one of those that knows the rules to appear…

out of scope is work to which the domestic regs apply

You can take a 7.5T home for personal use and set it to out of scope, but for anything bigger / for a unit you’ll need to use the tacho even for personal weekend use. You can’t drive it during a rest period

Basket:

You can take a 7.5T home for personal use and set it to out of scope, but for anything bigger / for a unit you’ll need to use the tacho even for personal weekend use. You can’t drive it during a rest period

So, if when I am on holiday/between jobs and I hire an 18t truck to move myself, i would have to use my tacho card? Just asking cause this might apply to me in the not to distant future.

madmackem:

Basket:

So, if when I am on holiday/between jobs and I hire an 18t truck to move myself, i would have to use my tacho card? Just asking cause this might apply to me in the not to distant future.

You’ll struggle to find anyone who will give you a vehicle over 7.5t without you having an O licence.

Using the artic unit for personal use after doing a shift means that it is not being used commercially so IMO that is not under any EU or UK domestic regs

Would need to be covered by insurance and have the owners permission to use it out of scope though because the mileage would need to be accounted for