Driver Training Instructor - Self employed query?

Hi Everyone,

I’ve got a serious set of queries that need genuine answers pls.

Since returning back from Afghan a year ago after 7 years on rotation as a civilian government contractor (assistant transport manager/ new contracts manager), I’ve been operating as a self employed class 1 driver focusing on multi drop and long haul to get the UK driving back experience under my belt. This has involved the painful process of using specific recruiters that are constantly throwing different clients and different jobs at me on a weekly basis. The day rates range from £13.50 to £14.50 with weekends from $17 to £21 and hour. Capped at 8hr max a shift its just not good enough. Im a grafter so 12 to 14hr shifts minimum is a God send yet an impossible find! Now my (18year) career experience is primarily logistics/ tankers yet its been a long time since I have been a tanker driver/operator here in the UK. Frustrating!!! Its for this reason that I have to use recruiters for standard class 1 work and they are extremely unreliable.

Re full time work ive noticed that corporate clients are just ■■■■ to work for in terms of the full term salaries they offer. The career development is poor and there is no real commission/ bonus incentive. Without being in the UK as a transport manager no corporate client will touch me unless i go in at the very bottom and the time it takes to get back up to ATM is 3 to 5+ years minimum. I just wont do it. Its this reason that I have been looking at what career in the transport world can I qualify in and look at a better return of both career and financial gain. One idea is I have been looking at HGV driver training instructors and there seems to be a high shortage due to most leaving their full time DTI roles and going freelance. To me it does make sense to invest in the right training because the return is quicker and more stable. As a grafter it makes sense■■?