Driverless vehicles...question

Sorry if this is a daft question, but I’m not tech savvy at all, but how will these autonomous vehicles work in the snow when the white lines are covered? Is it just a case of the driver taking over the controls as usual?

Guessing it depends which of the different systems are fitted?
With a wire buried under the road and suitable detectors the vehicle won’t need to"see" white lines. Likewise in fog: we may see FA the machine’s radar may “see” perfectly.
All sorts of possibilities.

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Tapatalk

Some follow wires, or follow other vehicles or simply avoid other objects. Trains still have a driver, there’s a reason for that [emoji14]

My car has auto assist which shows a pictograms on the dash if I get too close, it also has a big glass thing you look through and you can see anything in front of you.
Last week the sensor froze up but I could still see cars in front of me.

Orwhen they’ve worn away and no one can be arsed to repaint them ?

Depends what sensors are fitted? If only optical ones then crsp on white lines will be a problem. Why not bury a wire in each lane? Or use metallic particles in the paint? Local GPS transponders at the roadside?
Posts at hundred metre intervals with radar on the vehicles? They’ll be “seen” in snow dark or fog.
Loads of possible solutions!

Unions ?

Edit.
Meant to quote Wheelnut saying there’s a reason trains have drivers.

Here.

We.

Go.

Again.

+1

but you forgot to add the… :unamused: :unamused: :unamused:

switchlogic:
Here.

We.

Go.

Again.

True. But when did you last see a truly original subject?
Low bridges. SatNav. AutoBox. Agency.

cheekymonkey:
Sorry if this is a daft question, but I’m not tech savvy at all, but how will these autonomous vehicles work in the snow when the white lines are covered? Is it just a case of the driver taking over the controls as usual?

Well they crawl along and get stuck, so really we’re not going to notice the difference. :laughing: