Weekly rest period

Hi

I couldn’t find information about this so that’s why I’m posting a new question.

I’m a new driver and was wondering about weekly rest period. I know that after 6 consecutive days of work, one needs to take the standard weekly rest or reduced one. However, what happens to this if I don’t work 6 consecutive days? I mean, I work through an agency and can work, as an example, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Monday…and so on. What is the weekly rest period that applies here? Or does it only apply for 6consecutive days? Many thanks.

P.S. I only drive up to 6 hours per shift.

Essentially, the fixed week runs from midnight Sunday/Monday to the following midnight Sunday/Monday, and in that fixed week you need to take a clear 45 hour rest period. This can be reduced down to 24 hours every other fixed week, but the reduced rest needs to be “paid back” before the end of the third fixed week following the reduction. If you have two reduced rests in a fixed week, only one needs to be compensated for. if your 45 hour rest period straddles midnight Sunday/Monday, you can choose to attach it to either of the fixed weeks it is in, but not both.

To add to what Harry Monk has said, any rest period of 45 hours or more is a regular weekly rest period, any rest period of 24 hours or more but less then 45 hours is a reduced weekly rest period.

It still counts as a weekly rest period even if you haven’t done six 24 hour periods.

If you work Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Monday as in your example, Tuesday, Friday and Sunday are reduced weekly rest periods as long as the rest periods are 24 hours or more.
Be aware though that 2 reduced weekly rest periods do not make a regular weekly rest period.