Haldex soft-docking system

Does anyone have this on their trailers and if so, what is your opinion of it?

We do, after your first attempt where you get out of the truck and take your keys in only to be told that you’re a foot short of the bay it gets easier!

They can be a bit over sensitive especially in wet weather resulting in you looking like a complete newbie as you kangaroo hop across the yard. Som of the sensors on ours get bent down so I end up removing the ABS lead until I’m on the bay.

It’s a good system…

The trailer brakes come on automatically as you get closer to the bay.

It’s also a good idea to inform the driver that the system is fitted though. When I first came across it, I thought that my red line had come off because the trailer just stopped about six feet away from the bay. I got out and checked everything over, got back in again, did another two feet and the ■■■■■■■ thing stopped again. After two more attempts, I considered pulling all my lines off and going in on the shunt button. Eventually I smelled a rat and asked another driver WTF was going on. He looked at my trailer (luckily he’d used one before) and explained it all to me.

The system might not have been by Haldex but it was the same principle.

Years ago, Dunlop trucks had a system were a soft impact applied the brakes when vehicle being reversed, so as top blokes when a Dunlop truck was reversing across the yard a swiftly bowled van tyre at the buffer stopped it dead, hours of endless fun, drivers got ■■■■■■ off at us tho.

Ahh yes. Soft docking. Here you go Mr CEO, buy this system for your trailers with the money you saved employing the scrapings from the bottom of the barrel, so that the seat kebabs* who attend your poverty spec steering wheels don’t damage your trucks.

Christ. I might manage to turn a simple straight line reverse into an epic 10 shunt saga from time to time :wink: , but even I can manage to not ram raid the bay.

*Credit diesel dog for the excellent phrase