Fed up bus driver of 17 years time for a change

Hi folks first post, I’ve been driving buses in Glasgow for last 17 years but can’t handle the public anymore the job is going down hill rapidly. I don’t mind driving I don’t mind long hours and I’m used to working all shift patterns and I’ve always wanted to sit my HGV exam but kids mortgage and life got in the way I’m now just turned 43 and now or never but before I jump is trucking a career I want to take. I love driving as I said long hours not a problem but as a new driver is it hard to get a start also would 17 years of driving buses be of any help to getting a job. Any advice would be great cheers.

Bigdee:
Hi folks first post, I’ve been driving buses in Glasgow for last 17 years but can’t handle the public anymore the job is going down hill rapidly. I don’t mind driving I don’t mind long hours and I’m used to working all shift patterns and I’ve always wanted to sit my HGV exam but kids mortgage and life got in the way I’m now just turned 43 and now or never but before I jump is trucking a career I want to take. I love driving as I said long hours not a problem but as a new driver is it hard to get a start also would 17 years of driving buses be of any help to getting a job. Any advice would be great cheers.

You end up doing more sitting around waiting to be tipped or for notes mate than driving to be honest :frowning:

Sounds even better now.

Just think when you become a truck driver you can finally flash us in :unamused:

With that kind of experience you’ll be a shoo-in for any job involving livestock haulage.

17 years of driving buses in Glasgow believe me I’ve picked up plenty of cows and a few wild beasts

Sidevalve:
With that kind of experience you’ll be a shoo-in for any job involving livestock haulage.