Are agencies killing the haulage industry

I’m new to the HGV industry and my general observation is agencies appear to be paying extremely low wages for work undertaken, your views please

haydn54:
I’m new to the HGV industry and my general observation is agencies appear to be paying extremely low wages for work undertaken, your views please

Depends what you call a low wage I am quite happy with what I get paid thanks

But if you look this has been done many times over the last few mth if you do a quick search

pertemps drivers earn far more than the company drivers at our site.none of them can be tempted to come ‘onboard’,despite the efforts of the management.they get paid poa and breaks (-45 mins per shift),we don’t. but i don’t want to be doing 60-70 hours a week.without the agy,they’d have to up the wages big time,or pay us overtime.

haydn54:

If the work on offer is low wages then you have the choice of not taking it, the more sensible question is “why are people doing the work for low wages in the first place”. They only offer low wages if they can get drivers to do it for those rates. I value myself at a rate that I am happy with and not one that I feel aggrieved about.

Ive been offered full time jobs, but I earn a lot more money on agencys. If you offered work & its low paid, its very simple you say no thankyou and let one of the ee drivers do it. I may be spoiled because I live in the east midlands so there is plenty of work about.

They are a business looking to maximise profits, so the bigger the margin between what the charge the company and what they pay the driver is better for them.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

haydn54:

I’d say agency hourly rates are no lower than the employers pay direct. I certainly haven’t come across a case where full time guys were getting more an hour than agency.

If it happens, it’s probably a temporary condition whilst the employers prepare for an attack on full time wages.