Companies charging drivers for stuff

In the handbook for a company I’ve just started with and am leaving after one week, it says if a driver fails to hand in a POD then £80 will be deducted from wages to cover the fines to the company for recovering another copy.

Also getting charged for stuff like a snapped suzie, or minor damage to the truck.

Do management not know if something called human error?

I know it’s your job to do stuff correctly, but getting wages deducted for the odd mistake. Am I out of touch or does this only happen in transport and with drivers? In any other job I’ve ever done I’ve never had wages deducted for a mistake.

In my previous job as a driver I actually did lose a POD. Why? Because I’d just been given it all signed etc, put it on my bunk, had my window open to reverse and a massive gust of wind came in and blew it away. Should I be charged for that? That company wouldn’t and didn’t, but it sounds like some companies would do!

You’re doing the right thing by walking away, what did you say their name was again ? :wink:

Sign here please…

I always ask to take the contract of employment home with me so I can read it through, strike anything I don’t agree with and then hand it back.

Some firms won’t do it, l just walk away. Most firms do but kick off at me for striking clauses out.

One firm never looked at the contract I handed back with several (disagreeable to me) points struck out.

Glad you walked, more people should do the same.

If you snap your lines then I understand getting either charged or having a disciplinary for that because the only way you can do it is by not following procedure. My last company would give you one chance with something like that and then start charging you after your chance for minor damage. Which to be fair I understand. But a POD. Ha! I’m walking…