Work for Free !!

Is this the new way that hauliers recruit experienced (21years clean driving) drivers by getting you to take a day off work and go out and drive for them up to 10 hours with one of their own drivers for a day free of charge, the operations manager called it a investment to do a day’s work for free in the hope that you may work for them - yeah right!

mastesallan:
Is this the new way that hauliers recruit experienced (21years clean driving) drivers by getting you to take a day off work and go out and drive for them up to 10 hours with one of their own drivers for a day free of charge, the operations manager called it a investment to do a day’s work for free in the hope that you may work for them - yeah right!

Another great plan for a co. still in the slave trade. 365 drivers all doing a ten hour ‘investment’…£20K saved…

I can understand your annoyance mate being experienced and that would annoy me as well… When I was a newbie with my hgv licence I actually put myself out there and offered to work for free for a day or so as long as there was a potential job offer at the end of it if I proved myself. That was 30+ years ago mind. I renewed my hgv last year and phoned about and enquired if I could do the same but apparently I was told it was illegal and they would have to pay me these days?

Seems a possible ‘in’ for newbies but a pee take for experienced imo.

Name and shame this company! :imp:

And why didn’t you say “well pay me, and INVEST in new staff…”

Simple don’t do it but drivers are there own worst enemy,
Once met a driver who ran down the road Sunday for free just so he didn’t have to start early on Monday, :open_mouth:

Not a chance, in most circumstances and especially if you’ve got years of experience.

I did it when I just passed, but I was with my brother and as he got a percentage of the truck earnings, doing a few days with him gave me experience and put a few quid in his pocket.