quitting

im looking to quit smoking and was wondering if anyone here has recently stopped and what you used to help you through it whilst driving on a daily basis,im not a big smoker and I can usually make 10 last me about a day but ive been smoking for over 20 years, I also don’t want to pile on any extra weight which is one of my worries if I do quit so any help or advice from any of you truckers who have quit would be greatly appreciated… :grimacing:

alrite there, iv been on an e cig for just on 6mths feel great just charge in cig socket i use the tobacco flavour as it tricks me into thinking im smoking as i did really enjoy but this gizmo is great fifty quid the kit was

I used the nicorett inhalator (sp?) they have little capsules in you can change but no smoke. Worked well for me as the patches made me puke and the gum is rancid.

Champex tablets (think that’s how you spell it)get them from your doc,I was smokein 40 a day until takein the tablets,that was two years ago now.you have to want to stop smokin if you don’t then nothing will work.good luck

I agree, champix are the best. six years ago i was on 20 a day in the cab and maybe another 10 or 15 when i got home. took champix and smoked for the first week as instructed, puffing away like a steam train, on the 8th day i woke up( i was on a 4pm start, trailer swapping at crick) went to work, stopped for my break at corley services on my way back to south wales and realised i had,nt had a ■■■ all day !!!

this was at 10 pm !!

this sounds ridiculous but it made me forget i smoked. the next time i thought about a ciggy a week had passed. taking into account that the missus still smoked for two weeks after i packed up before she started on champix. We ALWAYS had smoked at the same time throughout the years.

as i say 6 years later both still non smokers.

thx for the replies guys I will look at trying those champix from the doctors…if I can get in… :laughing: